为什么要研究饮食变化?

饮食和生活方式是影响肥胖、糖尿病和心血管疾病等文明病发展的主要因素。越来越多的科学证据支持这样的观点,即饮食的改变会显著影响2型糖尿病等代谢疾病的发展。

我们的营养服务

为满足临床研究中的营养需求Profil专门设有一个代谢病房。我们的代谢厨房可以调查和控制在临床试验中营养状况产生的影响。Profil迄今已经使用标准化营养方案进行了70多项研究。我们在此方面丰富的经验意味着我么可以帮助您根据任何试验目标来匹配营养方案。即使是在需要进行混合膳食耐受性测试或制定个性化饮食的情况下,我们也可以帮助客户制定匹配的营养方案。

依照美国糖尿病学会和德国营养学会的指导方针,我们确保常规膳食能够摄入足够的营养。如有需求,我们的营养研究团队可以依据个人喜好和规定的营养成分,为试验参加者定制可口的每日菜单。与此同时,我们的代谢厨房可以对食物成分进行精确称量。我们能够每天调整患者的饮食,使他们每日的大量营养素,微量营养素和液体摄入标准化。我们也与面包店和分包实验室密切合作,以便根据任何研究需求生产特定的食品(例如低钠面包或对含水量有严格要求的烘焙食品)。

能量需求的确定

为了制定具体的营养方案,通常需要现场确定能量需求。根据研究设计,可以基于静息代谢率确定总能量需求,通过间接量热法测量,或使用包括身体成分测量在内的各种测量方法,利用常用公式估算出总能量。除了静息能量消耗外,还可以通过间接测热法将营养素诱导产热和运动诱导产热评估为总的能量消耗变量。 最后,可以使用双标签水方法直接测量总能量支出。 这是预测真实能量需求的最佳方法。

制定适合具体个人的能量摄入是标准化的最高等级,它被证明能够在两到三周内(根据干预效果)检测到身体成分的变化。通过食物成分的高度标准化,营养素对代谢参数的影响能够得到最大程度的降低,从而减少研究结果的可变性并进一步增加优化样本量的可能。

为了适应最广泛的营养学研究,我们的方法体系设计还旨在使用数字系统准确评估每个人的自由营养摄入量。在自助餐式环境中量化能量摄入量使我们能够对食物选择或食物偏好进行评估。同时,我们还提供电子视觉模拟量表(eVAS)来测量食欲研究中的食欲感和食物偏好。

最后且同样重要的是,密切监测水分和营养素的摄入量与排泄量使我们可以评估每日的代谢平衡,并量化某些营养素(例如钠、水)在人体内总含量的变化。

 阅读更多有关Profil Germany在肥胖前驱糖尿病相关合并症中经验的信息。
pikto2.png

网络研讨会

网络研讨会点播:

"Determining Energy
Expenditure in
Clinical Trials"

 

立即观看

PD Dr. Leona Plum-Mörschel

我们的专家

PD Plum-Mörschel 博士

首席执行官
Profil Mainz

与她联系

Food content image
Food content image 2

Why study alterations in diet?

Diet and lifestyle are the main influencers in the development of the diseases of civilization such as obesity, diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease. An increasing body of scientific evidence supports the view that alterations in diet markedly affect the progression of metabolic diseases like type 2 diabetes mellitus.

Our nutrition services

Profil has a metabolic ward that is specialized in meeting nutritional requirements in clinical research. Our metabolic kitchen allows the investigation and control of the impact of nutritional conditions in clinical trials. To date, Profil has performed more than 70 studies with standardized nutritional regimens. This significant experience means we can help match nutritional plans to the objectives of any trial, even when mixed meal tolerance tests or individual diets are needed.
Following the guidelines of the American Diabetes Association and the German Nutrition Society, we ensure adequate nutrient intake levels for regular meals. If required, our team of research dieticians can plan palatable daily menus meeting both individual preferences and prescribed nutrient content, while our metabolic kitchen allows a gram-exact weighing of dietary components. We have the capacity to adapt the patient’s diet on a day-to-day basis and standardize their intake of macro- and micronutrients and fluid. We collaborate closely with a bakery and sub-contracted laboratories so that specific foods can be produced according to the needs of any study (e.g., low-sodium-bread or baked goods with tightly defined water content).

Energy requirement determination

To develop specific nutritional regimens, energy requirements are routinely determined onsite. Depending on the study design, total energy requirements can be determined based on resting metabolic rate, measured via indirect calorimetry or estimated with commonly used formulas using individual anthropometric measurements including body composition. In addition to resting energy expenditure, nutrient-induced thermogenesis and exercise-induced thermogenesis can be assessed via indirect calorimetry as contributing variables to total energy expenditure. Finally, the doubly labeled water method may be used to directly measure total energy expenditure. This is the best predictor of true energy requirements.
Individually tailored energy intake, the highest grade of standardization, has been show to enable the detection of body composition changes within two to three weeks, dependent on the efficacy of the intervention. Through high standardization of food components, we are able to minimize the impact of nutrients on metabolic parameters, thus reducing the variability of study results and increasing the potential to further optimize the sample size.
To accommodate the widest range of nutritional studies, our methodological setup is also designed to accurately assess ad-libitum nutrient intake of each individual using a digital system. Quantifying energy intake in a buffet-style setting enables us to assess food choice or food preference. Simultaneously, we provide electronic visual analogue scales (eVAS) to measure the sense of appetite and perceived food preference in appetite research.
Last but not least, close monitoring of water and nutrient intake and excretion gives us the opportunity to evaluate daily metabolic balances and to quantify changes in the total body content of certain nutrients (e.g., sodium, water).


Are you planning a study?
Make sure to request your free project consultation now.

Request now

PD Dr. Leona Plum-Mörschel

Our expert

PD Dr. Plum-Mörschel

Chief Executive Officer
Profil Mainz


Food content image
Food content image 2