模拟生理胰岛素的输送

胰岛素给药的替代途径是一个很具吸引力且重要的研究领域。有效的非注射胰岛素给药途径可能在药理学方面具有相当大的优势。因为通过口、肺、皮肤、胃肠道或腹膜的胰岛素吸收比通过皮下储库更为迅速。这种快速的吸收有望可以模拟健康人在血糖升高后的第一阶段胰岛素分泌。

此外,口服或腹膜给药对肝脏的胰岛素作用要强于外围。迅速作用与不明显的外周高胰岛素血症相结合,可以降低低血糖的风险,并导致较少的体重增加。

挑战与临床试验

尽管胰岛素的替代给药途径为糖尿病患者带来了方便,并且具有药理学方面的优势,但目前只有通过肺部或腹膜吸收的胰岛素给药方式才被商业化利用。需要克服的挑战主要是较低的吸收量,针对这点则需要提高剂量,以及吸收的可变性,这意味着血糖水平降低的幅度可能比预期幅度更大或更小,从而导致低血糖或高血糖的风险更大。

在口服、吸入和皮下给药的胰岛素试验中,Profil研究了早期发展的关键参数和变量,例如生物利用度、生物效能、相互和内部变异性、给药时间和潜在的食物效应。
pikto2.png

网络研讨会

网络研讨会点播:

"Alternative Routes
of
Insulin Administration"

 

立即观看

Dr. Eric Zijlstra

我们的专家

Eric Zijlstra 博士

项目开发/医学技术总监

与他联系

Insulin Pill

Contact

Mimicking physiological insulin delivery

Alternative routes of insulin administration are an attractive and important area of study. Efficient injection-free insulin administration could have considerable pharmacological advantages as insulin absorption via the mouth, lungs, skin, gastrointestinal tract or peritoneum is faster than via the subcutaneous depot. It is hoped that this fast absorption will mimic the first-phase insulin secretion seen in healthy people after a glucose challenge.
Furthermore, oral or intraperitoneal administration has a stronger and more physiological insulin effect on the liver than on the periphery. A faster-acting profile combined with less pronounced peripheral insulinemia should also reduce the risk of hypoglycemia and result in less weight gain.

Challenges and clinical trials

Despite the convenience to diabetes patients and the pharmacological advantages of alternate routes of insulin administration, only insulin absorbed via the lung or intraperitoneum has been commercialized. The main challenges to overcome are low absorption, which necessitates high dosages, and variable absorption, which means that the glucose level may reduce by a greater or lesser degree than desired, resulting in a higher risk of hypo- or hyperglycemia.
In insulin clinical trials with oral, inhaled and intradermal delivery, Profil investigates the critical parameters and variables for early-phase development such as bioavailability, biopotency, inter- and intravariability, timing of dosing and the potential food effect.
pikto2.png

Webinar

Alternative_Routes_Webinar_on-demand

Watch now

Dr. Eric Zijlstra

Our expert

Dr. Eric Zijlstra

Director Project Development/ Medical Technology

Contact

Insulin Pill