肠促胰素在糖尿病治疗中的作用

肠促胰岛素分泌激素是由肠道分泌的激素,可对食物摄入产生响应以刺激葡萄糖依赖性胰岛素的分泌。肠促胰岛素分泌激素在葡萄糖稳态中起着重要作用。

第一种被识别的肠促胰岛素分泌激素是抑胃肽(GIP),又称葡萄糖依赖性促胰岛素多肽。20世纪80年代初期,人们发现了胰高血糖素样肽(GLP 1),它是一种由肠道L细胞产生的胰高血糖素原裂解产物。

GLP-1是一种肠促胰岛素分泌激素,具有多种葡萄糖调节作用,包括增强葡萄糖依赖性胰岛素的分泌,抑制不适当升高的胰岛素分泌,减缓胃排空,以及减少食物摄入量和体重。2型糖尿病患者餐后GLP-1的分泌减少,这表明GLP-1信号通路是一个有吸引力的治疗靶点。然而,GLP-1被二肽基肽酶-4迅速降解,并且半衰期相对较短。

GLP-1通路的治疗潜力促使人们开发出一类与GLP-1有共同的葡萄糖调节作用,但对二肽基肽酶-4降解具有抵抗性的化合物。

GLP-1受体激动剂可显著改善糖化血红蛋白,这类药物还有助于降低低血糖风险并促进体重下降。各个GLP-1受体激动剂的药代动力学和药效动力学特征差异很大。速效GLP-1受体激动剂显示出对餐后血糖水平有显着影响,这可能是由于胃排空明显减慢所致,而作用较长的GLP-1受体激动剂主要影响空腹血糖,对胃排空没有明显的长期影响。

Profil Germany的肠促胰素研究

 在过去的15年中,Profil参与了众多GLP-1受体激动剂的开发,Profil的服务支持了多个GLP-1新药从早期的临床试验到上市授权的开发。

基于这种特殊的经验,Profil的服务将帮助支持新药开发,探索通过单分子同时调控例如胰高血糖素、GLP-1和GIP受体等的协同代谢优势。这些新型的双作用肽有可能成为治疗肥胖症和糖尿病的有效药理途径。

consultation

网络研讨会

 

网络研讨会点播:

"ClampArt®:
Next Generation
Glucose Clamps"

 

立即观看

Dr. Christoph Kapitza

我们的专家

Christoph Kapitza 博士

首席执行官 - Operations

与他联系

Clinic picture

Contact

The role of incretins in diabetes treatment

Incretin hormones are intestinally derived hormones stimulating glucose-dependent insulin secretion in response to food intake. Incretin hormones play an important role in glucose homeostasis.

The first incretin hormone identified was gastric inhibitory polypeptide (GIP), which is also referred to as glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide. In the early 1980s, glucagon-like peptide (GLP1) was discovered as a proglucagon cleavage product produced in intestinal L cells.

GLP-1 is an incretin hormone with multiple glucoregulatory actions, including enhancement of glucose-dependent insulin secretion, suppression of inappropriately elevated glucagon secretion, slowing of gastric emptying, and reduction of food intake and body weight. Postprandial secretion of GLP-1 is reduced in patients with type 2 diabetes, suggesting that the GLP-1 signaling pathway is an attractive therapeutic target. However, GLP-1 is rapidly degraded by the enzyme dipeptidyl peptidase-IV and has a relatively short half-life.

The therapeutic potential of the GLP-1 pathway has led to the development of a class of compounds that share several glucoregulatory actions with GLP-1 but are resistant to dipeptidyl peptidase-IV degradation.

GLP-1 receptor agonists provide significant improvements in HbA1c, and this class of drugs also helps to decrease the risk of hypoglycaemia and promote weight loss. Individual GLP-1 receptor agonists have widely differing pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic profiles. Shorter-acting GLP-1 receptor agonists appear to have a marked effect on postprandial glucose levels, which is likely due to substantial slowing of gastric emptying, whereas longer-acting GLP-1 receptor agonists affect mainly fasting glucose and do not have any notable long term effect on gastric emptying.

Incretin research at Profil Germany

Profil was involved into the development of numerous GLP-1 receptor agonists over the last 15 years and Profil services supported several new GLP-1 drug developments from the early phase clinical trials up to marketing authorization.
Based on this specific experience Profil services will now help to support new drug developments exploring the synergistic metabolic benefits of simultaneous modulation of e.g. glucagon, GLP-1 and GIP receptors through a single-molecule. These novel dual-acting peptides have the potential to be an effective pharmacological approach targeting obesity and diabetes.
consultation

Webinar

Watch now

Dr. Christoph Kapitza

Our expert

Dr. Christoph Kapitza

CEO - Operations

Contact

Clinic picture