临床试验中的常规评估

在Profil,多种诊断方法被作为评估和监测糖尿病相关问题的标准而被建立,这些问题包括心血管并发症和微血管并发症,例如糖尿病肾病或糖尿病性网膜病变。

肾功能的常规检查包括评估eGFR,白蛋白尿和半胱氨酸C,超声成像和通过碘海醇清除率测定GFR。

我们会使用机构内的散瞳和非散瞳眼底镜检查及眼底照相或者与当地注册的眼科医生合作对视网膜病变进行评估。

糖尿病神经病变诊断的临床和技术评估按照国际标准进行,包括标准的定量感觉试验以及使用挑战试验(如Ewing battery)进行心血管自主神经测试、血压的正态调节、巴洛特氏反射敏感度、心率的光谱分析等,并根据国际标准进行评估。胃排空延迟可通过辛酸呼气试验和用稳定的同位素测量口服葡萄糖吸收等试验来评估。

非侵入性方法可用于研究一系列相关的血管反应,如可能对微血管和大血管功能的治疗影响。

血管超声可用于测量血管内介质厚度或血流介导的扩张,以评估重要血管(如肱动脉)的内皮功能。

微血管功能检查包括激光多普勒法。神经血管和内皮调节机制可以使用一系列功能试验来研究,包括标准的诱发试验,如热、电渗、缺血以及冷压试验或深呼吸试验的交感神经兴奋等。

监测糖尿病并发症的重要性

针对心血管疾病、微血管并发症及其他糖尿病相关问题的管理,在糖尿病患者的诊断和治疗中具有举足轻重的作用。

心血管疾病(CVD)风险的增加是糖尿病患者死亡率和发病率过高的主要原因。超过半数糖尿病患者的死亡是由CVD导致的,糖尿病患者因CVD导致的死亡率几乎是非糖尿病患者的2倍。

在西方国家,糖尿病的微血管并发症是导致失明、晚期肾衰竭和下肢截肢的主要原因。伴随着这些并发症的是死亡率和心血管事件的风险明显增加。

预防糖尿病并发症,减轻其后果并可能使其逆转,不仅是患者护理的主要目标之一,而且还是临床研究的主要目标。

糖尿病并发症监测的法规要求

由于肾功能受损或胃排空延迟,微血管合并症可改变药物的药代动力学特征。因此,EMA和FDA的指南要求新型疗法的研发人员需进行并提交涉及有此类糖尿病并发症的特定目标人群的研究。

糖尿病并发症临床研究的招募

糖尿病并发症领域的临床研究成功与否,取决于能否顺利招募到特定人群,包括心血管疾病、神经疾病、视网膜病变和不同阶段的糖尿病肾病患者等。而糖尿病合并症的普遍存在可能进一步制约了患者的纳入,成功而迅速的招募依赖于庞大的糖尿病患者数据库,同时也有赖于与当地糖尿病专家、眼科医生、心脏病专家和肾脏病专家的密切合作。

Profil Germany:糖尿病并发症研究的合作伙伴

除了作为监测和评估糖尿病及肥胖症复杂并发症的标准而建立的诊断方法外,Profil Germany还拥有一个广泛的数据库,可以为各种临床研究提供合适的潜在研究参与者,并在相应的医学领域建立了医生网络。这使得我们成为临床糖尿病视网膜病变研究、糖尿病肾病研究、心脏代谢研究和其他病症的理想合作伙伴。
Icon_References

免费咨询

您正在计划一项研究?

请确保现在就申请免费的项目咨询。

立即申请

Prof. Dr. Hans de Vries

我们的专家

Hans de Vries 教授

高级医学科学家

与他联系

Complications

Contact

Routine assessments in clinical trials

At Profil, a variety of diagnostic methods have been established as standards for the assessment and monitoring of diabetes-related issues such as cardiovascular complications and microvascular complications such as diabetic nephropathy or diabetic retinopathy.
Routine tests of renal function include assessments of eGFR, albuminuria and cystatine C, ultrasound imaging and GFR determination via iohexole clearance.
Retinopathy is regularly assessed using mydriatic and non-mydriatic ophthalmoscopy and fundus photography at our institute or in collaboration with registered local ophthalmologists.
Clinical and technical assessments for the diagnosis of diabetic neuropathy are done in accordance with international guidelines, and include standard quantitative sensory testing and the use of challenge tests (e.g., the Ewing battery) for cardiovascular autonomic testing, orthostatic regulation of blood pressure, baroreflex sensitivity, and spectral analysis of the heart rate. Delayed gastric emptying can be assessed by tests such as the octanoate breath test and measurement of oral glucose absorption with stable isotopes.
Non-invasive methods are available for the study of a range of relevant vascular responses, such as possible treatment effects on microvascular and macrovascular function.
Vascular ultrasound is used to measure intima media thickness or flow-mediated dilation to assess the endothelial function of essential vessels, such as of the brachial artery.
Microvascular function tests include laser Doppler methods. Neurovascular and endothelial regulatory mechanisms can be studied using a battery of functional tests, including standard provocation tests, such as heat, iontophoresis, ischemia, and sympathetic activation by the cold–pressure test or deep breath test.

The importance of monitoring diabetes complications

The management of cardiovascular disease, microvascular complications and other diabetes-related issues is pivotal in the diagnostic and therapeutic approach to individuals with diabetes mellitus.
The increased risk for cardiovascular disease (CVD) is a major contributor to the excessive mortality and morbidity in patients with diabetes. CVD is responsible for more than half of all deaths among people with diabetes, and mortality from CVD is almost 2-fold higher in diabetes patients than in people without diabetes.
Microvascular complications of diabetes are among the leading causes of blindness, end-stage kidney failure and lower limb amputation in Western countries. They are accompanied by a markedly increased mortality and risk for cardiovascular events.
Preventing diabetes complications, mitigating their consequences and possibly reversing them is not just one of the primary objectives of patient care but also a major goal for clinical research.

Regulatory requirements for monitoring diabetes complications

Microvascular comorbidity can alter the pharmacokinetic characteristics of a drug due to impaired renal function or delayed gastric emptying. EMA and FDA guidelines therefore require that developers of novel treatments perform and submit studies involving specific target populations with such diabetes complications.

Recruitment to clinical studies of diabetes complications

Successful clinical research in the field of diabetes complications depends on the smooth recruitment of specific study populations, including patients with cardiovascular disease, neuropathy, retinopathy and different stages of diabetic kidney disease. The common presence of comorbidity may further restrain the inclusion of patients, and a successful and swift recruitment relies on a large database of diabetes patients, but also on close cooperation with local diabetologists, ophthalmologists, cardiologists and nephrologists.

Profil Germany: a partner for studies of diabetes complications

Besides the range of diagnostic methods established as standards for the monitoring and assessment of the complex complications associated with diabetes and obesity, Profil Germany has both an extensive database of suitable candidates for a variety of clinical studies and a network of physicians in the appropriate fields of medicine. This makes us an ideal partner for clinical diabetic retinopathy research, diabetic nephropathy research, cardiometabolic research and other conditions.
pikto2.png

Free 
Consultation

Are you planning a study?
Make sure to request your free project consultation now.

Request now

Prof. Dr. Thomas Forst

Our expert

Prof. Dr. Thomas Forst

Director Medical Sciences

Contact

Complications