微血管和大血管疾病的早期诊断

在认识到视网膜激光扫描作为糖尿病患者调整血管风险工具的重要性后,Profil Germany和信赖的研究伙伴合作,充分开发视网膜激光扫描技术。我们可以将此技术整合到糖尿病的临床试验和糖尿病发展研究中。

糖尿病患者经常会发生微血管疾病,例如糖尿病视网膜病变。并且,这种情况的发展与大血管并发症(例如心肌缺血和中风)的发生率有着密切联系。视网膜激光扫描可用于微血管功能障碍和微血管结构性改变的早期诊断。

该领域的深入研究表明,视网膜血流的改变在糖尿病确诊后早期就开始发展,但早于小动脉壁的重塑。糖尿病患者血管功能障碍的最早特征之一是血管内皮对局部血流的调节功能受损,这很可能是由血管内皮一氧化氮的合成和代谢紊乱引起的。为了研究早期的功能和结构异常,视网膜激光多普勒扫描技术得到发展,并在多项研究中得到验证。最近的一些研究表明,使用某些抗糖尿病药进行的药物干预除了可以影响葡萄糖代谢外,还具有调节视网膜微血管血流的潜力。

视网膜激光多普勒扫描可以评估动脉和静脉的微血管血流量、神经血管单元的完整性以及视网膜血管的血管结构。为了评估视网膜血流,Profil与德国埃尔朗根-纽伦堡弗里德里希·亚历山大大学的眼科预防医学和影像学跨学科中心(IZPI)建立了合作关系。

视网膜激光扫描方法

使用256点x 64线x 128线的分辨率对大小为2.56 x 0.64 x 0.30mm的视网膜样本进行2秒钟扫描。该设备的共聚焦技术可确保仅记录视网膜表层(300 µm)的毛细血管血流。这些记录被存储并以电子数据形式传输至眼科预防医学和影像学跨学科中心,该中心是分析视网膜微血管血流量以及计算视网膜壁腔比值(WLR)的读取中心。

灌注图像分析可通过自动全视野灌注成像分析(AFFPIA)离线进行。这项技术可以计算灌注图中的视网膜血流,不包括直径大于30 µm的血管,且无扫视,以及无反射率不足的像素。在目标区域中计算平均视网膜毛细血管血流量,并表示为任意单位(AU)。为了研究视网膜微循环的功能完整性,将使用频闪光(10 Hz 3分钟以上;Photo Stimulator 750,Siemens-Elema AB)对视网膜-内皮反射弧进行刺激。

血管直径分析是通过自动全视野灌注成像分析(SLDF version 3.7)进行的。在反射图像中测量小动脉外径(AD),在灌注图像中测量管腔直径(LD)。壁腔比值(WLR)为(AD-LD)/ LD。

Icon_References

免费咨询

您正在计划一项研究?

请确保现在就申请免费的项目咨询。

立即申请

Ptrof. Dr. Hans de Vries

我们的专家

Hans de Vries 教授

高级医学科学家

与他联系

Retinal Scanner

Contact

Early diagnosis of micro- and macrovascular diseases

Recognizing its importance as a tool for vascular risk alignment in patients with diabetes mellitus, Profil Germany has worked with trusted partners to develop full competence in retinal laser scanning. We can integrate this technique into clinical studies and research on the development of diabetes.
Microvascular diseases such as diabetic retinopathy occur frequently in patients and a close association was found between the development of this condition and the incidence of macrovascular complications such as myocardial ischemia or stroke. Retinal laser scanning is used for the early diagnosis of microvascular dysfunction and structural alterations in microvascular architecture
Intensive research in this area has shown that alterations in retinal blood flow develop early after the diagnosis of diabetes mellitus and precede the remodeling of the arteriolar wall. One of the earliest features of vascular dysfunction in patients with diabetes mellitus is impairment in the endothelial regulation of local blood flow, most probably caused by disturbances in the synthesis and metabolism of endothelial nitric oxide. For the investigation of early functional and structural abnormalities, laser Doppler scanning of the retina has been developed and validated in numerous studies. Recent studies have shown that pharmacological intervention with some antidiabetic drugs has the potential to modulate retinal microvascular blood flow beyond the effects on glucose metabolism.
Laser Doppler scanning of the retina allows to assess arterial and venous microvascular blood flow, the integrity of the neuro-vascular unit, and the angioarchitecture of retinal vessels. For the assessment of retinal blood flow, Profil has established a collaboration with the Interdisciplinary Center for Ophthalmic Preventive Medicine and Imaging (IZPI) of the Friedrich-Alexander-University in Erlangen-Nuernberg, Germany.

The method of retinal laser scanning

A retinal sample of 2.56 x 0.64 x 0.30 mm is scanned for 2 seconds at a resolution of 256 points x 64 lines x 128 lines. The confocal technique of the device ensures that only the capillary blood flow of the superficial retinal layer (300 µm) is recorded. The records are stored and transmitted electronically to the Interdisciplinary Center for Ophthalmic Preventive Medicine and Imaging which serves as the reading center for the analysis of retinal microvascular blood flow and the calculation of the retinal wall to lumen ratio (WLR).
Analysis of perfusion images are performed offline with automatic full-field perfusion imaging analysis (AFFPIA). This technology allows the calculation of retinal blood flow in a perfusion map excluding vessels with a diameter of > 30 µm, without lines with saccades, and without pixels with inadequate reflectivity. The mean retinal capillary blood flow is calculated in an area of interest and expressed as arbitrary units (AU). To investigate the functional integrity of the retinal microcirculation a retino-endothelial reflex arc is stimulated by the application of flicker light (10 Hz over 3 minutes; Photo Stimulator 750, Siemens-Elema AB).
Vessel diameter analysis is performed with automatic full field perfusion imaging analysis (SLDF version 3.7). The outer arteriole diameter (AD) is measured in reflection images, and lumen diameter (LD) was measured in perfusion images. The wall to lumen ratio (WLR) is calculated as (AD-LD)/LD.
pikto2.png

Free 
Consultation

Are you planning a study?
Make sure to request your free project consultation now.

Request now

Ptrof. Dr. Thomas Forst

Our expert

Prof. Dr. Thomas Forst

Director Medical Sciences

Contact

Retinal Scanner