肥胖与前驱糖尿病

在过去30年里,全球肥胖症的发病率增加了一倍,导致2型糖尿病患者明显增加。重要的是,患有前驱糖尿病个体(一种中间高血糖表型和重要的糖尿病危险因素)的数量大大超过了患有明显糖尿病个体的数量。前驱糖尿病是由用于糖尿病诊断和糖尿病治疗监测所使用的血糖稳态参数所定义的(图1)。通过血糖标准定义,有时可以在前驱糖尿病状态下观察到通常归因于晚期糖尿病并发症的亚临床表现。

为了制定有效的糖尿病预防方案,前驱糖尿病治疗的临床试验必不可少。这些试验需要对预防措施的安全性和有效性进行测试,并探索早期识别2型糖尿病高危人群的工具。

Profil Germany和前驱糖尿病研究

Profil接受糖尿病前期单纯以葡萄糖为中心治疗方法的局限性。我们致力于更全面地了解前驱糖尿病,承认高血糖、炎症和氧化应激的作用,以及前驱糖尿病发展致病特点的多样性。

Profil拥有多种不同策略来识别早期糖尿病的风险个体。这些手段从对人体测量参数的测量到涉及前驱糖尿病和糖尿病发展的循环标志物分析。空腹血清胰岛素、空腹血浆葡萄糖和口服葡萄糖耐量测试是Profil常用的前驱糖尿病指标。新型代谢组学和药物基因组学标记物的研究旨在不断改善前驱糖尿病表型的分型。

胰岛素抵抗(IR)是前驱糖尿病的一个典型特征。它可能在血糖控制恶化的几年内出现。Profil使用最准确、最可靠的胰岛素敏感性测量方法:高胰岛素正葡萄糖钳夹技术。

最近的证据表明,肝脏脂肪的增加是肥胖者易患胰岛素抵抗的另一个关键因素。Profil可直接使用磁共振波谱(MRS)或间接使用脂肪肝指数(FLI)来测量肝脏脂肪,FLI是γ-谷丙转氨酶、甘油三酯、腰围和BMI的综合替代指标。FLI已被证实可指示出脂肪肝的存在,而高FLI与高水平的胰岛素抵抗(如使用葡萄糖钳夹技术评估),空腹血浆葡萄糖和胰岛素水平升高以及葡萄糖耐量受损有关。

前瞻性方法

我们还会根据遗传和代谢特征为客户开发前驱糖尿病的分类法。这种手段可以改善针对促进代谢健康和预防糖尿病的个性化选择。在代谢组学分析和健康经济建模的支持下,我们与生物标志物医学研究中心(CBmed)和EIT健康知识与创新社区的合作伙伴们合作,支持客户评估成本效益,并确定从早期风险评估和特定干预措施中获益最大的目标群体。

在这一战略的基础上,现代信息通信技术(ICT)的社交媒体、电信、物联网和服务的结合,将有助于接触并激发特定的目标人群,促进代谢健康和糖尿病预防。通过开展患者参与研究,我们让相关参与人员积极主动地参与到研究开发、代谢恢复以及糖尿病预防等方面的决策过程中。我们认为,共同创造将极大地改善针对代谢健康和糖尿病预防的产品和服务,以满足人们的个性化需求。这些都是患者坚持改变生活方式干预的前提条件,而这将是减少糖尿病及其合并症的关键之一。

 
pikto2.png

网络研讨会

 

网络研讨会点播:

"Early phase obesity research &
how to measure outcomes
of interest"

 

立即观看

PD Dr. Leona Plum-Mörschel

我们的专家

PD Leona Plum-Mörschel 博士

首席执行官 - Profil Mainz

与她联系

Contact

Obesity and prediabetes

The worldwide prevalence of obesity has doubled over the past three decades, contributing to a marked increase in type 2 diabetes mellitus. Importantly, the number of individuals with prediabetes—an intermediate hyperglycemia phenotype and significant risk factor for diabetes—considerably exceeds the number of individuals with overt diabetes. Prediabetes is defined by the same blood glucose homeostasis parameters that are used for the diagnosis of diabetes and the monitoring of diabetes treatment (Figure 1). A subclinical manifestation of complications usually assigned to the presence of advanced diabetes can be sometimes observed already in the prediabetic state, when defined by glycemic criteria.
In order to develop efficacious primary diabetes prevention options, prediabetes treatment clinical trials are essential. These should test the safety and efficacy of preventive measures and explore tools to early on identify people that are at high risk for type 2 diabetes.

Profil Germany and prediabetes research

Profil accepts the limitations of a purely gluco-centric approach to prediabetes. We are committed to a more holistic view on prediabetes which acknowledges the role of hyperglycaemia, inflammation and oxidative stress, and the high level of diversity in pathogenetic traits underlying the development of prediabetes.
Profil has several strategies to identify individuals who are at risk of diabetes early. These range from the measurement of anthropometric parameters to the analysis of circulating markers implicated in the development of prediabetes and diabetes. Fasting serum insulin, fasting plasma glucose and oral glucose tolerance tests are commonly employed at Profil to serve as indicators of prediabetes. Novel metabolomic and pharmacogenomic markers are investigated with the aim of constantly improve prediabetes phenotyping.
Insulin resistance (IR) is a classical feature of prediabetes. It may be present years deterioration in blood glucose control becomes measurable. Profil uses the most accurate and reliable measure of insulin sensitivity: the hyperinsulinemic euglycemic clamp technique.
Recent evidence indicates an increase of liver fat as being another key factor predisposing obese people to the development of insulin resistance. Profil provides the measurement of liver fat directly using magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) or indirectly using the fatty liver index (FLI), which is a composite surrogate of gamma-glutamyltransferase, triglycerides, waist circumference and BMI. The FLI has been validated for indicating the presence of a fatty liver and a high FLI is associated with a high prevalence of insulin resistance (as assessed using the glucose clamp technique), elevated fasting plasma glucose and insulin levels, and impaired glucose tolerance.

A forward-looking approach

We also support our clients in the development of prediabetes taxonomies based on genetic and metabolic signatures. This approach may improve personalization in metabolic health promotion and diabetes prevention. Supported by metabolomic profiling and health economic modeling in collaboration with our partners in the Center for Biomarker Research in Medicine (CBmed) and the EIT Health Knowledge and Innovation Community, we support our clients in the estimation of cost-effectiveness and the identification of target groups benefiting most from early risk assessment and specific interventions.
Further to this strategy, modern ICT-integrating social media, telecommunications, and the internet of things and services will help to reach and motivate specific target groups for metabolic health and diabetes prevention. By enabling patient-initiated research, we pro-actively take the trend to involve users in the decision-making process along the lines of research and development, metabolic resilience, and diabetes prevention. We think that co-creation will greatly improve tailoring of products and services for metabolic health and diabetes prevention to peoples' individual needs. These are prerequisites for patient adherence to lifestyle-changing interventions, which will be one key for reducing incident diabetes and co-morbid conditions. 
 
pikto2.png

Webinar

live_webinar_mice_and_men.png

Watch now

PD Dr. Leona Plum-Mörschel

Our expert

PD Dr. Leona Plum-Mörschel

Chief Executive Officer - Profil Mainz

Contact